

Having trouble viewing this email? View it as a Web page.

- 2015 Acreage Reporting Date
- Farm Service Agency (FSA) Offers Farm Bill Website and Online Overview of Farm Bill Programs
- USDA to Issue Disaster Assistance to Help Honeybee, Livestock and Farm-Raised Fish <u>Producers</u>
- Filing A Notice of Loss
- Livestock Indemnity Program (LIP)
- Marketing Assistance Loan (MAL) and Loan Deficiency Payment (LDP) Policy
- <u>Save Time Make An Appointment With FSA</u>
- Farm Bill Offers Increased Opportunities for Producers
- Youth Loans Available To Eligible Mississippi Youth Ages 10-20
- <u>Apply for Microloan Today</u>

Mississippi FSA April Newsletter

Mississippi Farm Service Agency (FSA)

6311 Ridgewood Rd., Suite W100 Jackson, MS 39211 Phone: 601-965-4300 Fax: 844-325-6966 Web: www.fsa.usda.gov/ms

State Committee:

Orlando Kilcrease, Ph.D Paul Myrick Kenneth Oswalt Levon Owens Sterling Withers

2015 Acreage Reporting Date

In order to comply with FSA program eligibility requirements, all producers are encouraged to visit your local County FSA office to file an accurate crop certification report by **July 15, 2015**.

Conservation Reserve Program (CRP), perennial forage, and spring seeded crops must be reported to the FSA Office by July 15.

The following exceptions apply to the above acreage reporting dates:

	٠	If the crop has not been planted by
State Executive Director:		the above acreage reporting date,

Michael R. Sullivan			
Next State Committee Meeting: May 13, 2015 at 10:00 A.M.			
Interest Rates: 90-Day Treasury Bill	.125%		
Farm Operating Loans Direct	- 2.375%		
Farm Ownership Loans Direct	s - 3.375%		
Farm Ownership Loans Direct Down Payment Beginning Farmer			
Emergency Loans	3.375%		
Farm Storage Facility Loan (7 year)	1.875%		
Farm Storage Facility Loan (10 years)	3.375%		
Farm Storage Facility Loan (12 years)	2.250%		
	1		

Please contact your local FSA Office for questions specific to your operation or county. then the acreage must be reported no later than 15 calendar days after planting is completed.

- If a producer acquires additional acreage after the above acreage reporting date, then the acreage must be reported no later than 30 calendars days after purchase or acquiring the lease. Appropriate documentation must be provided to the county office.
- If a perennial forage crop is reported with the intended use of "cover only," "green manure," "left standing," or "seed," then the acreage must be reported by July 15th.

Noninsured Crop Disaster Assistance Program (NAP) policy holders should note that the acreage reporting date for NAP covered crops is the earlier of the dates listed above or 15 calendar days before grazing or harvesting of the crop begins. Warm season forage & perennial grazing acres are recommended to be reported by April 15th.

For questions regarding crop certification and crop loss reports, please contact your local County FSA office

http://offices.sc.egov.usda.gov/locator/app.

Farm Service Agency (FSA) Offers Farm Bill Website and Online Overview of Farm Bill Programs

The Agricultural Act of 2014 (the Act), also known as the 2014 Farm Bill, was signed by President Obama on Feb. 7, 2014. The Act repeals certain programs, continues some programs with modifications, and authorizes several new programs administered by the Farm Service Agency (FSA). Most of these programs are authorized and funded through 2018.

For the latest on 2014 Farm Bill programs administered by FSA, please visit our Farm Bill website at <u>www.fsa.usda.gov/farmbill</u> and for an FSA program overview please read, download and/or print our recently posted FSA Farm Bill Fact Sheet titled, What's in the 2014 Farm Bill for Farm Service Agency Customers?

For more information on FSA, please contact your local USDA Service Center or visit us online at <u>www.fsa.usda.gov</u>.

USDA to Issue Disaster Assistance to Help Honeybee, Livestock and Farm-Raised Fish Producers

Farm Bill Program Offers Producers Relief for 2014 Losses in more than 40 States including Mississippi

The U.S. Department of Agriculture's (USDA) Farm Service Agency recently announced that nearly 2,700 applicants will begin receiving disaster assistance through the Emergency Assistance for Livestock, Honeybees and Farm-Raised Fish Program (ELAP) for losses experienced from Oct. 1, 2013, through Sept. 30, 2014.

The program, re-authorized by the 2014 Farm Bill, provides disaster relief to livestock, honeybee, and farm-raised fish producers not covered by other agricultural disaster assistance programs. Eligible losses may include excessive heat or winds, flooding, blizzards, hail, wildfires, lightning strikes, volcanic eruptions and diseases, or in the case of honeybees, losses due to colony collapse disorder. Beekeepers, most of whom suffered honeybee colony losses, represent more than half of ELAP recipients.

The farm bill caps ELAP disaster funding at \$20 million per federal fiscal year and the Budget Control Act of 2011, passed by Congress, requires USDA to reduce payments by 7.3 percent, beginning Oct. 1, 2014. To accommodate the number of requests for ELAP assistance, which exceeded 2014 funding, payments will be reduced to ensure that all eligible applicants receive a prorated share.

The announcement was made possible by the 2014 Farm Bill, which builds on historic economic gains in rural America over the past six years, while achieving meaningful reform and billions of dollars in savings for the taxpayer. Since enactment, USDA has made significant progress to implement each provision of this critical legislation, including providing disaster relief to farmers and ranchers; strengthening risk management tools; expanding access to rural credit; funding critical research; establishing innovative public-private conservation partnerships; developing new markets for rural-made products; and investing in infrastructure, housing and community facilities to help improve quality of life in rural America. For more information, visit http://www.usda.gov/farmbill.

To learn more about ELAP, visit <u>www.fsa.usda.gov/elap</u>. For more information about USDA Farm Service Agency (FSA) disaster assistance programs, visit <u>disaster.usda.fsa.gov</u> or contact your local FSA office at <u>http://offices.usda.gov</u>.

Filing A Notice of Loss

The CCC-576, Notice of Loss, is used to report failed acreage and prevented planting and may be completed by any producer with an interest in the crop. Timely filing a Notice of Loss is required for all crops including grasses. For losses on crops covered by the Non-Insured Crop Disaster

Assistance Program (NAP) and crop insurance, you must file an acreage report and a CCC-576, Notice of Loss, in the FSA County Office within 15 days of the occurrence of the disaster or when losses become apparent.

If filing for prevented planting, an acreage report and CCC-576 must be filed within 15 calendar days of the final planting date for the crop.

72-Hour Notification: For hand-harvested crops, at least one producer sharing in the unit must notify FSA of damage or loss within 72 hours of the date damage or loss first becomes apparent. This notification may be provided by filing a CCC-576 Part B, e-mail, FAX, or telephone. A NAP Notice of Loss must be timely filed if the 72-hour notification is made by any method other than by filing a CCC-576 Part B.

Livestock Indemnity Program (LIP)

The Livestock Indemnity Program (LIP) provides assistance to eligible producers for livestock death losses in excess of normal mortality due to adverse weather and attacks by animals reintroduced into the wild by the federal government or protected by federal law. LIP compensates livestock owners and contract growers for livestock death losses in excess of normal mortality due to adverse weather, including losses due to hurricanes, floods, blizzards, wildfires, extreme heat or extreme cold.

For 2015, eligible losses must occur on or after Jan. 1, 2015, and before December 31, 2015. A notice of loss must be filed with FSA within 30 days of when the loss of livestock is apparent. Participants must provide the following supporting documentation to their local FSA office no later than 30 calendar days after the end of the calendar year for which benefits are requested:

- Proof of death documentation
- Copy of growers contracts
- Proof of normal mortality documentation

USDA has established normal mortality rates for each type and weight range of eligible livestock, i.e. Adult Beef Cow = 1.5% and Non-Adult Beef Cattle (less than 400 pounds) = 5%. These established percentages reflect losses that are considered expected or typical under "normal" conditions. Producers who suffer livestock losses in 2015 must file both of the following:

- A notice of loss the earlier of 30 calendar days of when the loss was apparent or by January 30, 2016
- An application for payment by January 30, 2016.

Additional Information about LIP is available at your local FSA office or online at: www.fsa.usda.gov.

Marketing Assistance Loan (MAL) and Loan Deficiency Payment (LDP) Policy

The Agricultural Act of 2014 authorized 2014-2018 crop year Marketing Assistance Loans (MALs) and Loan Deficiency Payments (LDPs), with a few minor policy changes.

Among the changes, farm-stored MAL collateral transferred to warehouse storage will retain the original loan rate, be allowed to transfer only the outstanding farm-stored quantity with no additional quantity allowed and will no longer require producers to have a paid for measurement service when

moving or commingling loan collateral.

MALs and LDPs provide financing and marketing assistance for wheat, feed grains, soybeans, and other oilseeds, pulse crops, rice, peanuts, cotton, wool and honey. MALs provide producers interim financing after harvest to help them meet cash flow needs without having to sell their commodities when market prices are typically at harvest-time lows. A producer who is eligible to obtain a loan, but agrees to forgo the loan, may obtain an LDP if such a payment is available.

Before MAL repayments and LDP disbursements can be made, producers must meet the requirements of actively engaged in farming, cash rent tenant and member contribution.

Additionally, form CCC-902 and CCC-901 must be submitted for the crop year, if applicable, with a county committee determination and updated subsidiary files.

To be considered eligible for an LDP, producers must have form <u>CCC-633EZ</u>, Page 1 on file at their local FSA Office before losing beneficial interest in the crop. Pages 2, 3 or 4 of the form must be submitted when payment is requested.

The 2014 Farm Bill also establishes payment limitations per individual or entity not to exceed \$125,000 annually on certain commodities for the following program benefits: price loss coverage payments, agriculture risk coverage payments, marketing loan gains (MLGs) and LDPs. These payment limitations do not apply to MAL loan disbursements.

Adjusted Gross Income (AGI) provisions were modified by the 2014 Farm Bill, which states that a producer whose total applicable three-year average AGI exceeds \$900,000 is not eligible to receive an MLG or LDP.

For more information and additional eligibility requirements, please visit a nearby USDA Service Center or FSA's website <u>www.fsa.usda.gov</u>.

Final Availability Dates for 2014 Marketing Assistance Loans & Loan Deficiency Payments

May 31, 2015 - Corn, Grain Sorghum, Rice, Soybeans, and Cotton

Save Time – Make An Appointment With FSA

To insure maximum use of your time and to insure that you are afforded our full attention to your important business needs, please call our office ahead of your visit to set an appointment and to discuss any records or documentation that you may need to have with you when you arrive for your appointment. For local FSA Service Center contact information, please visit: http://offices.sc.egov.usda.gov/locator/app.

Farm Bill Offers Increased Opportunities for Producers

The 2014 Farm Bill offers increased opportunities for producers including farm loan program modifications that create flexibility for new and existing farmers. A fact sheet outlining modifications to the U.S. Department of Agriculture's (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) Farm Loan Programs is available <u>here</u>.

The Farm Bill expands lending opportunities for thousands of farmers and ranchers to begin and continue operations including greater flexibility in determining eligibility raising loan limits and

emphasizing beginning and socially disadvantaged producers.

Changes that will take effect immediately include:

- Elimination of the 15 year term limit for guaranteed operating loans.
- Modification of the definition of beginning farmer, using the average farm size for the county as a qualifier instead of the median farm size.
- Modification of the Joint Financing Direct Farm Ownership Interest Rate to 2 percent less than regular Direct Farm Ownership rate, with a floor of 2.5 percent. Previously, the rate was established at 5 percent.
- Increase of the maximum loan amount for Direct Farm Ownership Down Payment Loan Program from \$225,000 to \$300,000.
- Elimination of rural residency requirement for Youth Loans, allowing urban youth to benefit.
- Debt forgiveness on Youth Loans, which will not prevent borrowers from obtaining additional loans from the federal government.
- Increase of the guaranteed percentage on Conservation Loans from 75 to 80 percent and 90 percent for socially disadvantaged borrowers and beginning farmers.
- Microloans will not count toward direct operating loan term limits for veterans and beginning farmers.

Additional modifications must be implemented through the rulemaking processes. Visit the <u>FSA</u> <u>Farm Bill website</u> for detailed information and updates to farm loan programs.

Youth Loans Available To Eligible Mississippi Youth Ages 10-20

The Farm Service Agency makes loans to youth to establish and operate agricultural incomeproducing projects in connection with 4-H clubs, FFA and other agricultural groups. Projects must be planned and operated with the help of the organization advisor, produce sufficient income to repay the loan and provide the youth with practical business and educational experience. The maximum loan amount is \$5000.

Youth Loan Eligibility Requirements:

- Be a citizen of the United States (which includes Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, Guam, American Samoa, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands) or a legal resident alien
- Be 10 years to 20 years of age
- Comply with FSA's general eligibility requirements
- Be unable to get a loan from other sources
- Conduct a modest income-producing project in a supervised program of work as outlined above
- Demonstrate capability of planning, managing and operating the project under guidance and assistance from a project advisor. The project supervisor must recommend the youth loan applicant, along with providing adequate supervision.

Stop by the county office for help preparing and processing the application forms.

Apply for Microloan Today

Farm Service Agency (FSA) reminds farmers and ranchers that the FSA borrowing limit for microloans increased from \$35,000 to \$50,000, on Nov. 7, 2014. Microloans offer borrowers simplified lending with less paperwork.

The microloan change allows beginning, small and mid-sized farmers to access an additional \$15,000 in loans using a simplified application process with up to seven years to repay. Microloans are part of USDA's continued commitment to <u>small and midsized farming operations</u>.

To complement the microloan program additional changes to FSA eligibility requirements will enhance beginning farmers and ranchers' access to land, a key barrier to entry level producers. FSA policies related to farm experience have changed so that other types of skills may be considered to meet the direct farming experience required for farm ownership loan eligibility. Operation or management of non-farm businesses, leadership positions while serving in the military or advanced education in an agricultural field will now count towards the experience applicants need to show when applying for farm ownership loans. **Important Note**: Microloans cannot be used to purchase real estate.

Since 2010, more than 50 percent of USDA's farm loans now go to beginning farmers and FSA has increased its lending to targeted underserved producers by nearly 50 percent.

Please review the FSA <u>Microloan Program Fact Sheet</u> for program application, eligibility and related information.

USDA is an equal opportunity provider and employer. To file a complaint of discrimination, write: USDA, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Civil Rights, Office of Adjudication, 1400 Independence Ave., SW, Washington, DC 20250-9410 or call (866) 632-9992 (Toll-free Customer Service), (800) 877-8339 (Local or Federal relay), (866) 377-8642 (Relay voice users).